WoW Cataclysm - Black Descent Raid Overview


Blackwing Descent is a challenging six-boss raid located on the Burning Steppes side of Blackrock Mountain. This dungeon is an extension of the infamous Blackwing Lair and is ruled by a resurrected Nefarian. After Nefarian's death, Deathwing retrieved the heads of his children, Nefarian and Onyxia, which were displayed as trophies in various cities, and resurrected them to rule this dark place. In Blackwing Descent, Nefarian, along with other followers of Deathwing, conducts dark and torturous experiments on dragonkind, creating new abominations and perfecting their sinister plans. Blackwing Descent has 2 floors. In order to access the lower floor, the first 2 bosses must be defeated. In order to encounter the final boss, all three bosses in the rooms around the center must be defeated.

Quick Facts for Blackwing Descent:

- Zone: Burning Steppes

- Number of Bosses: 6

- Rewards: Bosses drop tokens for Tier 11 raid gear

- Modes: Available in 10-Player and 25-Player modes, both Normal and Heroic difficulties

Exploring Blackwing Descent not only presents a formidable challenge for adventurers but also offers a deep dive into the dark history of draconic corruption and experimentation carried out under Deathwing's command. Players must prepare to face unimaginable horrors and encounters that will test both their skill and bravery. With each boss defeated, heroes draw closer to unraveling the dark secrets and restoring balance to the world of Azeroth.

Location and Entrance

Blackwing Descent is located in the Burning Steppes on the east side of Blackrock Mountain. To find the entrance, start at the front entrance of the mountain and fly up the right side. You will see a balcony, which was the final room of Blackwing Lair. The raid entrance to Blackwing Descent is at the back of this balcony. Use the coordinates /way 23.2, 26.3 to pinpoint the exact location. This area serves as the gateway to the six-boss raid filled with dark experiments and formidable challenges.

Blackwing Descent location


buy nooow

Bosses Overview

1. Omnotron Defense System: Blackwing Descent opens with a council-style showdown against the Omnotron Defense System. Comprising four dwarven golems Arcanotron, Electron, Magmatron, and Toxitron this encounter introduces randomness as each golem activates with unique abilities. Despite their individual traits, they share a collective health pool, demanding strategic coordination to overcome.

2. Magmaw: A colossal lava worm reminiscent of Ulduar's Kologarn, Magmaw inaugurates the raid as the first adversary. Positioned on a ledge, players must manipulate Magmaw to expose its vulnerable back, amplifying damage output during specific phases. This dynamic requires precise positioning and timing to maximize DPS potential while contending with Magmaw's formidable attacks.

3. Maloriak: Engineered from a fusion of human and dragonkin, Maloriak serves as a testament to Nefarian's twisted experiments. Employing alchemical potions, Maloriak adapts mid-combat, manifesting an array of temporary abilities. The encounter's unpredictability demands adaptability as raiders navigate the shifting landscape of mechanics and challenges.

4. Atramedes: A blind dragon honing its senses through sound, Atramedes introduces a unique dynamic to Blackwing Descent. Alternating between ground and air phases, players must manage movement and positioning to evade Atramedes's devastating attacks. The Sound Bar mechanic further complicates the encounter, testing player reliability and coordination.

5. Chimaeron: Entrusted with guarding the imprisoned gnome explorer Finkle Einhorn, Chimaeron's encounter unfolds with unexpected chaos. Triggered by Finkle's accidental activation of the Bile-O-Tron 800 machine, Chimaeron awakens, setting the stage for a frantic battle against the formidable guardian.

6. Nefarian: The ultimate challenge awaits in the form of Nefarian, the final boss of Blackwing Descent. Reanimated alongside a revitalized Frankenstein-Onyxia, Nefarian orchestrates a grueling three-phase battle. From navigating treacherous platform jumps to contending with relentless waves of foes, raiders must muster all their skill and determination to emerge victorious.


Participation in Blackwing Descent offers various rewards, including prestigious achievements and titles:

1. Glory of the Cataclysm Raider: Completing the meta-achievement grants the Reins of the Drake of the East Wind mount. Additionally, it contributes to earning the title "Defender of a Shattered World."

2. Guild Glory of the Cataclysm Raider: Achieving this guild meta-achievement rewards the Reins of the Dark Phoenix mount, showcasing the collective prowess of the guild in conquering Blackwing Descent.

3. Blackwing's Bane: Earn the title "Blackwing's Bane" upon completing the heroic difficulty encounter with Nefarian. This prestigious title commemorates your triumph over one of the most formidable adversaries in the raid.

4. Temporary Title and Buff: Slaying Maloriak on Heroic difficulty bestows the temporary title "Slayer of Stupid, Incompetent and Disappointing Minions." Additionally, you receive the Master Adventurer Award buff, granting a temporary boost to your prowess in battle. These rewards persist until you log out or meet your demise, providing recognition for your heroic deeds within the raid.