WoW Cataclysm - Mount Hyjal Zone Overview


Mount Hyjal, one of the two starting zones in the Cataclysm expansion of World of Warcraft, offers a unique and contrasting experience compared to the other starting zone, Vashj'ir. While Vashj'ir immerses players in a vast underwater world, Mount Hyjal features a landscape filled with majestic mountains, lush meadows, and the fiery devastation brought by the Twilight's Hammer and fire elementals. This article will provide you with everything you need to know about Mount Hyjal, whether you are questing to level up or exploring the content at level 85.

Upon arriving in Mount Hyjal, players find a region under siege. Ragnaros, the Firelord, along with the Twilight's Hammer, a clan dedicated to the destruction of Azeroth, have set their sights on the World Tree, which is still recovering from previous attacks. To prevent the complete annihilation of the area, players must ally with the denizens of Hyjal to revive the Wild Gods and confront the growing threats. The quests in Mount Hyjal not only offer a deep immersion into the game's lore but also the opportunity to participate in epic battles and heroic actions that will shape the fate of Azeroth. Prepare to embark on an adventure filled with challenges and rewards in the heart of Mount Hyjal.

Mount Hyjal is a perfect zone to start leveling your Cataclysm-level professions, as it is one of the two starting zones of the expansion.

WoW Cataclysm - Mount Hyjal Zone Overview

How to Get to Mount Hyjal

When entering Mount Hyjal for the first time while questing, players will have two different paths to the zone, depending on their faction:

1. Alliance Players:

- After accepting the "Hero's Call: Mount Hyjal!" quest, players need to talk to Emissary Windsong, who can be found in Stormwind Keep.

2. Horde Players:

- After accepting the "Warchief's Command: Mount Hyjal!" quest, players need to talk to Cenarion Emissary Blackhoof, who can be found in the Valley of Wisdom.

If you are returning to Mount Hyjal, players can use the portals found in either Stormwind City or Orgrimmar, depending on their faction.


buy nooow

Dungeons and Raids

Mount Hyjal features two instances, though only one will be available with the release of Cataclysm Classic. Notably, the dungeon, Blackrock Caverns, is not physically located within Mount Hyjal itself.

Blackrock Caverns

Blackrock Caverns is a dungeon situated within Blackrock Mountain, located on the border of Burning Steppes and Searing Gorge. These winding caverns are inhabited by elementals, members of the Twilight's Hammer, and their monstrous experiments. Within Blackrock Caverns, players will encounter several deadly foes and some of the most dangerous lieutenants among the cult's ranks, as the Twilight's Hammer continues their twisted experiments.

Players who have completed the "This Can Only Mean One Thing..." quest will have the option to teleport to the dungeon via the mole machine provided in the quest.


Firelands is the second raid tier that will be released in Cataclysm Classic. The Firelands is the molten domain forged by the titans to imprison Ragnaros and his wayward minions. Following Deathwing's emergence into Azeroth, Ragnaros and his servants surged onto the slopes of Mount Hyjal but were driven back by the valiant defenders of the sacred mountain. Now, Ragnaros is rallying his loyalists to defend the Firelands from Azeroth's champions.

Both instances offer players challenging content and the opportunity to engage with key aspects of Cataclysm's storyline, providing significant rewards and a deep immersion into the lore of the expansion.


Mount Hyjal features two reputation factions that players can engage with:

1. Guardians of Hyjal:

The Guardians of Hyjal serve as the primary reputation faction for the zone's quests. Players will earn reputation with the Guardians of Hyjal by completing quests throughout Mount Hyjal, which involves aiding in the defense of the World Tree and battling against the forces of Ragnaros and the Twilight's Hammer. Building reputation with the Guardians of Hyjal will unlock various rewards and benefits, including gear, recipes, and other valuable items.

2. Avengers of Hyjal:

The Avengers of Hyjal are introduced with the Firelands raid. This faction is dedicated to battling Ragnaros and his minions within the Firelands. Players will earn reputation with the Avengers of Hyjal by participating in the Firelands raid and defeating its bosses. Gaining reputation with the Avengers of Hyjal grants access to powerful raid gear and other high-level rewards, making it an essential faction for players looking to tackle endgame content in Cataclysm Classic.